A Smile on His Face, and a Sparkle in His Eye, Jhay Jaictin: Final Update

July 31, 2008

Before Jhay's Surgery    Jhay Between Surgeries    Jhay After Surgery   

Several months ago, Trivani’s Country Manager for the Phillipines, Erwin Boiser, met a teenage boy named Jhay Nino Jaictin. “The first time we met his head was always turned away from me,” says Erwin, “as if he was shy, and worried that I would say something about his foot.” The 17-year-old Jhay had a club foot, and had spent his entire life as an object of ridicule and scorn by the other children in his village. “Our doctor said that Jhay was almost too old for successful clubfoot surgery,” says Erwin, “but he promised that even though it would take longer than normal, he would still be able to do it. It took them five months to finish the whole process.  As I watched Jhay’s feet slowly going to their proper place, I could see a change in his disposition, coupled with unreserved smiles assuring his mother that he could make it.” 

Five months later, Jhay could walk for the first time in his life.

“I took him a pair of sneakers,” says Erwin, “and he became so happy he started to cry. I told him that the sneakers were motivation to heal quickly and exercise his legs, so that soon he could get up and play basketball. His eyes began to sparkle with a new light of hope, and all he could say was ‘thank you.’ Words were too much. But he gave me the most heartfelt handshake I have ever received, and I will remember it forever.”

Jhay wanted to personally thank the people who paid for his surgery, so he wrote a short, simple letter from the bottom of his heart: “I will never forget this for the rest that I live. Thank you very much.”

3 Responses to “A Smile on His Face, and a Sparkle in His Eye, Jhay Jaictin: Final Update”

  1. I saw your comment on my blog, and was looking at yours, and was happy to see this story about this boy with clubbed feet! My daughter from China had one clubbed foot that we had corrected a year ago, and it is a blessing to see how lives are changed with treatment. People all around the world needlessly suffer with this condition, and I am grateful for those who help bring healing to others.

    Lois

  2. Viv said

    Thank you for the good work you do! You’ve been added to the Cool Moms Rule! blogroll.

    Viv

  3. Megan said

    In September my husband, two daughters and I will be attending a 10-week missions training course in Mexico. This is our first step toward the goal of working as full-time missionaries in Nicaragua!

    We’re very excited, but the cost is a bit daunting.

    I contacted some talented friends and collected some amazing prizes for a fundraising raffle! This is good stuff ladies and gentlemen!!

    You can visit the contest directly by clicking here:
    http://megaknits.blogspot.com/2008/08/send-us-to-mexico-and-win-fabulous.html

    And you can learn more about our adventures here:
    http://hellopapaya.blogspot.com

    Tell your friends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

