Summer Chore and Character Goals

July 18, 2008

To do listI am continuing to Make Room for God, each day (ok, almost everyday). I am doing small things, in the spirit of Sanctuary is in the Small Things, to keep progressing to an organized house again.

One of the small things that have been on my mind for a while, is to implement a chore chart. Several years ago, when we were homeschooling, I created a chart, but it just did not work very well for some reason- maybe the boys were just too young. However, the boys have had chores to do everyday since then, but it was just when we asked them to do it- we have not really have a system up to this point.

So, I pulled out my copy of MOTH (Managers of Their Homes, written for homeschooling families- I just visited their website, and see that they have a new tool for chores, Managers of Their Chores, which I just may have to try out!), and reread a few sections. Well, I have devised a new chore system for my family. Each week I have a Laundry Helper, a Kitchen Helper, and a Bathroom Helper. I wanted to switch helpers each week, but the boys wanted to keep their jobs.

So, here is what we have been doing the past few weeks:

Laundry Day - Focus hand on dial

Sean (11 years old) has been my laundry helper, and he has been doing a great job, with a great attitude, I might add!! His responsibilities currently consist of helping me carry the baskets of laundry upstairs, and putting away the laundry. I will begin adding teaching him to sort, operate the washer and dryer, and to fold, one at a time..

Toilet BrushDarren (7 years old) has been my bathroom helper, and has been doing a great job, with a great attitude, too! His responsibilities include emptying out the trash, keeping the floor picked up, wiping the sink, and wiping the toilet.

 

DishwasherBrian (9 years old) has been my kitchen helper, and has been doing a great job, with a great attitude, just like his brothers! His responsibilities include, unloading the dishwasher, washing the floor, and his favorite part- helping prepare meals! I will begin teaching him to clean the refrigerator, load the dishwasher, organize the pantry, plan meals, and nutrition.

I am very pleased with how well we all are doing with the new system! And I must admit that I am happy to be without a chore chart- I know that they work for many people, but I am just not a fan of charts. It feels good to finally find what works for us. I am not sure how we will continue, in terms of switching helpers- the authors of MOTH suggest working with each child for a year.

The following are the character goals that were listed in MOTH, and they were the exact ones that we need to work on:

  1. Obedience with a good attitude– “Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. ‘Honor your father and mother’-which is the first commandment with a promise- ‘that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.'” (Ephesians 6:1-3)
  2. No complaining or arguing– “Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God…” (Philippians 2:14,15)
  3. Choose to be kind-“Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.” (Ephesians 4:2)

Well, we most certainly have seen improvements from each child in each character goal. Of course, there is still improvement needed, but I feel like the new chore system has really helped with goals 1 & 2.

As for encouraging kindness, I most certainly praise my children when they are being kind to each other. However, there must be additional ways to promote it, and I would love to hear what others do to encourage kindness between siblings- please share in the comments section, if you feel inclined!

Leave a Reply

