1000 Gift List

May 14, 2008

Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth.

Colossians 3:2

I am very excited to say, that I have decided to participate in the 1000 Gifts List. On this blog I will begin making a list of gifts, not necessarily gifts I want or have given, but of the gifts He bestows upon me out of His infinite love and grace, because everything from Him is a gift.

Let your roots grow deep into him and draw up nourishment from him, so you will grow in faith, strong and vigorous in the truth you were taught. Let your lives overflow with thanksgiving for all he has done.”

Colossians 2:7 (NLT)

I feel as Mama Whitney does:

“I think of all the gifts I have not recorded. All the gifts I am fearful to record. All the gifts I have not been aware of. All the gifts I have taken for granted. All the gifts I’ve tried in vain to take credit for.

Lord, increase my vision for Your hand in my life, Your hand that upholds me, Your hand that created me. Help me to be ever-growing in seeing Your goodness and giving You praise. May I see, hear, taste, smell, and feel You more and sing Your praises more as a result. As Matt Redman says, “Worship starts with seeing You.” I want to see You more. I want to recognize You more as I experience all these undeserved gifts.”

Won’t you join me, and begin your list of a Thousand Gifts?

Leave a Reply

